Medizinische Universität Sofia

Inter HECS > Universitäten > Medizinische Universität Sofia

Studiere an der Medizinischen Universität Sofia

Wenn du im medizinischen Bereich an einer renommierten Universität in Europa studieren möchtest, dann hast du wahrscheinlich schon von der Medizinischen Universität Sofia in Bulgarien gehört. Sie ist eine der renommiertesten Universitäten auf der Balkanhalbinsel und bietet Medizin, Zahnmedizin und Pharmazie in englischer Sprache an. Die internationale Atmosphäre an der Universität, die erschwinglichen Studiengebühren und das hohe Niveau der Ausbildung sind einige der Gründe, warum sich jedes Jahr Menschen aus mehr als 50 Ländern für ein Studium an der Medizinischen Universität Sofia bewerben! Im Folgenden findest du ausführliche Informationen über die Universität, das Aufnahmeverfahren und das Studentenleben in Sofia, Bulgarien.

Über die Universität

Die Geschichte der Medizinischen Universität Sofia begann im Jahr 1917, als ein Erlass Seiner Majestät, König Ferdinands, in Kraft trat, der die Einrichtung einer medizinischen Fakultät an der Universität Sofia vorsah. Die allererste Vorlesung wurde ein Jahr später gehalten. Die Medizinische Akademie wurde 1950 gegründet, wodurch die Medizinische Fakultät zu einer unabhängigen Einrichtung wurde, die nicht mehr zur Universität Sofia gehörte. 

Heutzutage ist die Medizinische Universität Sofia eine der renommiertesten medizinischen Universitäten in Bulgarien. Sie nutzt das Europäische System zur Anrechnung von Studienleistungen und bietet Erasmus+-Programme für Studierende an. Die institutionelle Akkreditierung wurde von der Nationalen Agentur für Bewertung und Akkreditierung erteilt. Da Bulgarien Mitglied der Europäischen Union ist, werden die an der Medizinischen Universität Sofia erworbenen Abschlüsse natürlich auch im Ausland anerkannt. 

Die Medizinische Universität Sofia hat vier Fakultäten – die Medizinische Fakultät, die Fakultät für Zahnmedizin, die Fakultät für Pharmazie und die Fakultät für öffentliches Gesundheitswesen. An der Medizinischen Universität Sofia werden englischsprachige Studiengänge in den Bereichen Medizin, Zahnmedizin und Pharmazie angeboten. Zu den Studiengängen gehören nützliche Praktika, die die Studierenden auf reale Situationen vorbereiten.

Im Vergleich zu anderen medizinischen Universitäten in Europa sind die Studiengebühren an der Medizinischen Universität Sofia recht niedrig. So liegen die jährlichen Studiengebühren für Medizin in englischer Sprache an der Medizinischen Universität Sofia bei 8000 EUR, während andere medizinische Universitäten in Europa zwar das gleiche Studienprogramm anbieten, die Gebühren aber bis zu 12 000 EUR pro Studienjahr betragen können. Darüber hinaus sind die Lebenshaltungkosten in Bulgarien ebenfalls recht erschwinglich. 

Einer der Vorteile der Medizinischen Universität Sofia im Vergleich zu anderen medizinischen Universitäten in Bulgarien ist, dass sie sich in der Hauptstadt Bulgariens befindet. Hier findest du den größten internationalen Flughafen Bulgariens – den Flughafen Sofia. Viele Flüge führen direkt nach Sofia, und das Reisen ist für Ausländer, die Bulgarien als Ziel für ihr Auslandsstudium wählen, normalerweise sehr wichtig. Darüber hinaus bietet die Hauptstadt die meisten Sporteinrichtungeninternationale Veranstaltungen sowie Unternehmen, die Teilzeitjobs für Studenten anbieten können. 

Die Medizinische Universität Sofia befindet sich im Stadtzentrum in der Nähe einiger der wichtigsten Sehenswürdigkeiten, darunter der Nationale Kulturpalast und die Hauptfußgängerzone. Zwei der berühmtesten Parks in Sofia – der Südpark (auf Bulgarisch „Yuzhen park“) und der Borisova-Garten – befinden sich ebenfalls in der Nähe. So können die Studenten nach einem anstrengenden Tag an der Universität die Stadt erkunden. Die Lage der Universität ist in der Tat ausgezeichnet – es gibt zwei U-Bahn-Stationen in der Nähe („Medizinische Akademie“ und „Nationaler Kulturpalast“) sowie zahlreiche Bus-, Straßenbahn- und Trolley-Stationen, die die Universität mit allen Stadtteilen Sofias verbinden. 

Studiengänge & Studiengebühren

Die Medizinische Universität Sofia bietet drei Studiengänge in englischer Sprache an – Medizin, Zahnmedizin und Pharmazie. Die Studenten schließen mit einem Master ab. Die Vorlesungen beginnen im Oktober und enden etwa im Juni. Es gibt zwei Prüfungszeiten – im Januar/Februar (am Ende des Wintersemesters) und im Juni/Juli (am Ende des Sommersemesters). Um zugelassen zu werden, müssen die Bewerber einen Aufnahmetest in Biologie, Chemie und Englisch bestehen.

  • Das Medizinstudium auf Englisch an der Medizinischen Universität Sofia dauert sechs Jahre und beinhaltet Praktika in Krankenhäusern in und um den Universitätscampus. Die Studiengebühren betragen 8000 EUR pro Studienjahr und werden in zwei Raten gezahlt. Jedes Jahr stehen 300 Plätze für Ausländer zur Verfügung, die Medizin auf Englisch studieren möchten.
  • Das Zahnmedizinstudium auf Englisch an der Medizinischen Universität Sofia dauert fünfeinhalb Jahre. Die Studiengebühren betragen 8000 EUR pro Studienjahr. Die Studenten zahlen die erste Hälfte der Studiengebühren zu Beginn des Wintersemesters und die zweite Hälfte – zu Beginn des Sommersemesters. Jedes Jahr stehen 150 Studienplätze in Zahnmedizin für internationale Studenten zur Verfügung.
  • Das Pharmaziestudium auf Englisch an der Medizinischen Universität Sofia dauert fünf Jahre. Die Studiengebühren betragen 3000 EUR pro Semester. Für ein Pharmaziestudium in englischer Sprache stehen 65 Plätze zur Verfügung.  

Viele internationale Studenten an der Medizinischen Universität Sofia beantragen einen Studienkredit in ihrem Heimatland, z. B. in Deutschland oder Schweden. Eine Teilzeitbeschäftigung ist ebenfalls möglich, wenn du nach einer Möglichkeit suchst, dein Studium in Bulgarien zu finanzieren. Die Verfügbarkeit von Stipendien an der Medizinischen Universität Sofia und die Voraussetzungen für die Gewährung von Stipendien können sich jedes Jahr ändern. Bedenke, dass Stipendien an der Medizinischen Universität Sofia keine Studiengebühren abdecken.

Bewerbung & Aufnahmebedingungen

Du fragst dich vielleicht, wie du dich für die Aufnahme bewerben kannst. Bewerber, die an der Medizinischen Universität Sofia Medizin, Zahnmedizin oder Pharmazie in englischer Sprache studieren möchten, müssen eine Reihe von Bewerbungsunterlagen bei der Universität einreichen. Dazu gehören ein Bewerbungsformular, eine Kopie des Abschlusszeugnisses der Oberstufe, eine Kopie der Noten des Abschlusszeugnisses, eine Bescheinigung des Gymnasiums/der zuständigen Einrichtung des Bewerbers, ein ärztliches Attest, eine Kopie des Reisepasses/des Personalausweises und Passfotos. Je nach Bildungshintergrund und Staatsangehörigkeit des Bewerbers können weitere Unterlagen erforderlich sein. Des Weiteren ist zu beachten, dass einige der Dokumente übersetzt und beglaubigt werden müssen.

Es ist wichtig, darauf hinzuweisen, dass alle Bewerber einen Aufnahmetest in den Fächern Chemie, Biologie und Englisch ablegen müssen. Im Jahr 2021 fand die Aufnahmeprüfung zum ersten Mal online statt. Die Schüler dürfen sie nicht wiederholen und müssen alle drei Fächer bestehen, um für die Zulassung in Frage zu kommen. Die Prüfungsergebnisse werden online bekannt gegeben und folgen der bulgarischen Notenskala (2 – nicht bestanden, 6 – ausgezeichnet).

In der Tat ist die Bewerbung einer der wichtigsten Schritte für jeden internationalen Studierenden. Deshalb bieten wir einen umfassenden Bewerbungsservice an – wir unterstützen die Studenten beim Sammeln, Vorbereiten und Einreichen der Bewerbungsunterlagen gemäß den Anforderungen und Fristen der Universität. Darüber hinaus bieten wir eine ausgezeichnete Online-Plattform zur Vorbereitung auf den Aufnahmetest – dort findest du Lernmaterialien, Musterklausuren und Probetests. Auf diese Weise kannst du in der Aufnahmeprüfung gute Noten erzielen – sie spielt eine wichtige Rolle für die erfolgreiche Zulassung an der Medizinischen Universität Sofia.

Studentenleben & Lebenshaltungskosten

Sofia ist einer der besten Orte zum Leben, wenn du dich für ein Auslandsstudium in Bulgarien entscheidest. Als Hauptstadt bietet sie so ziemlich alles – moderne Einkaufszentren, viele internationale Restaurants, gemütliche Lerncafés, verschiedene Sportanlagen, interessante Museen und Galerien. Hier findest du auch den größten Flughafen Bulgariens!

Jedes Jahr nimmt die Medizinische Universität Sofia mehr als 500 internationale Studenten auf – Du kannst leicht Freundschaften mit Menschen aus dem Vereinigten Königreich, Deutschland, Italien, Schweden, Norwegen, Kanada, Griechenland, Irland, Indien, Pakistan und anderen Ländern der Welt schließen. Die große Zahl internationaler Unternehmen, die Ausländern Arbeitsplätze anbieten, aber auch die Touristen, die die reiche Geschichte Bulgariens erkunden wollen, machen Sofia zur internationalsten Stadt Bulgariens. 

Außerdem gibt es viele Studentenverbindungen an der Universität und internationale Veranstaltungen in Sofia – es wird dir nie langweilig werden!

Natürlich hat die Hauptstadt einen großen Nachteil: Die Preise in Sofia sind im Vergleich zu anderen Städten in Bulgarien höher. Auf jeden Fall sind die Lebenshaltungskosten in Bulgarien immer noch erschwinglich, wenn man sie mit den Ausgaben in anderen europäischen Ländern vergleicht. Zum Beispiel kann man in einem Restaurant für nur 5 bis 10 EUR gut essen gehen. Eine Monatskarte für Studenten für (alle Linien) in Sofia kostet 11 EUR. Eine schöne Privatwohnung kannst du für 300 bis 400 EUR pro Monat mieten.

Studentenunterkünfte

Die Unterbringung von Studenten in Sofia ist ein Thema, das für alle Bewerber sehr wichtig ist. Die Medizinische Universität Sofia verfügt über Studentenwohnheime. Normalerweise kostet ein Zimmer in einem Studentenwohnheim etwa 50 EUR pro Monat. Es verfügt über zwei Betten, zwei Schreibtische und ein Bad. Die Studentenwohnheime der Medizinischen Universität Sofia befinden sich jedoch ziemlich weit vom Stadtzentrum entfernt – im Viertel „Studentski grad“. Von dort aus sind es etwa 40 Minuten mit dem Bus bis zum Universitätscampus. 

Deshalb ziehen es die meisten internationalen Studenten vor, im oder in der Nähe des Stadtzentrums zu wohnen, wo sich die Medizinische Universität Sofia befindet. In diesem Fall kann die Miete für eine Privatwohnung zwischen 300 und 400 EUR pro Monat liegen. Natürlich hängt der Preis von der Einrichtung, der Lage, der Größe der Wohnung usw. ab. Rechnungen sind in der Regel nicht inbegriffen und die Mietverträge gelten für ein Jahr. Die meisten internationalen Studenten ziehen es vor, eine Wohnung mit einem anderen Studenten zu teilen. In diesem Fall hat die Wohnung in der Regel zwei Schlafzimmer und Küche und Bad werden gemeinsam genutzt. Die beiden größten Vorteile einer Wohngemeinschaft sind das Zusammenleben mit einem Freund während des Auslandsstudiums und das Teilen der Lebenshaltungskosten in Sofia.

Über die Stadt

Sofia ist die Hauptstadt Bulgariens – mit fast 2 Millionen Einwohnern ist sie die größte Stadt des Landes. Sofia heißt viele Einheimische und Ausländer willkommen, dank der großartigen Arbeitsmöglichkeiten, der erschwinglichen Lebenshaltungskosten und der angesehenen Hochschuleinrichtungen. Zu den bekanntesten Universitäten in Sofia, die Studiengänge in englischer Sprache anbieten, gehören die Universität St. Kliment Ohridski, die Medizinische Universität Sofia, die Universität für Forstwirtschaftdie Technische Universität Sofia und die Universität für Architektur, Bauingenieurwesen und Geodäsie.

Sofia ist eine sichere Stadt. Wenn du nachts ausgehst, wirst du viele Menschen sehen, vor allem im Park vor dem Nationalen Kulturpalast und entlang der Hauptfußgängerzone – der Vitosha-Straße. Beide Orte sind nur 10 Minuten zu Fuß von der Medizinischen Universität Sofia entfernt! 

Außerdem sprechen die Einheimischen Englisch, und die Speisekarten in den Restaurants sind in der Regel auf Englisch erhältlich! Es gibt viele nützliche mobile Anwendungen für Taxis und öffentliche Verkehrsmittel in Sofia. Außerdem werden die internationalen Marken und Fast-Food-Ketten in den Einkaufszentren rund um Sofia dir das Gefühl geben, als wärst du nie von zu Hause weggegangen.

Auch Menschen aller Religionen sind hier willkommen – wusstest du, dass es mitten im Herzen von Sofia den so genannten „Platz der Toleranz“ gibt? Dort findest du eine Moschee, eine katholische Kathedrale, eine orthodoxe Kirche und eine Synagoge. In der Nähe befindet sich die Zar-Simeon-Straße, die bei Einheimischen und Ausländern als „arabische Straße“ bekannt ist und in der viele Restaurants Halal-Gerichte und Gewürze aus aller Welt anbieten.

Sofia ist auch der beste Ort, wenn du gerne ausgehst und in deiner Freizeit aktiv bist – in der Stadt gibt es viele Fitnessstudios, Bowling- und Go-Kart-Plätze. Das Vitosha-Gebirge ist nur 40 Minuten mit dem Auto oder öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln entfernt – dort kann man das ganze Jahr über wandern und im Winter sogar Ski fahren!

Virtuelle Tage der offenen Tür

Video der Woche

Sofia Medical University

Inter HECS > Universities > Sofia Medical University

Study at Sofia Medical University

If you wish to study in the medical field at a prestigious university in Europe, then you have probably heard about Sofia Medical University in Bulgaria. It is one of the highest-ranked universities on the Balkan peninsula and it offers Medicine, Dental Medicine and Pharmacy in English. The international atmosphere at the university, the affordable tuition fees as well as the high standards of education are some of the reasons why people from more than 50 countries apply every year to become students at Sofia Medical University! In the following, we have included detailed information about the university, the admission process as well as student life in Sofia, Bulgaria.

About the university

The history of Sofia Medical University started in 1917 – this was when a decree by His Majesty, King Ferdinand, entered into force to establish a Medical Faculty of Sofia University. The very first lecture was delivered a year later. The Medical Academy was established in 1950 which made the Medical Faculty an independent institution, which was no longer part of Sofia University.

Nowadays, Sofia Medical University is one of the most prestigious medical universities in Bulgaria. It uses the European Credit Transfer System and offers Erasmus+ programs for students. Institutional accreditation has been granted by the National Evaluation and Accreditation Agency. Of course, as Bulgaria is a member state of the European Union, the degrees students obtain at the Sofia Medical University are also recognized abroad.

The Medical University of Sofia has four faculties – Faculty of Medicine, Faculty of Dental Medicine, Faculty of Pharmacy, and Faculty of Public Health. Study programs in English that are available at Sofia Medical University include Medicine, Dental Medicine, and Pharmacy. The study programs include useful internships that prepare students for real-life situations.

In comparison to other medical universities in Europe, the tuition fees at Sofia Medical University are rather low. To illustrate, the annual tuition fees for Medicine in English at Sofia Medical University are 8000 EUR, whereas other medical universities in Europe offer the same study program but the fees may amount to 12 000 EUR per academic year. Furthermore, the living expenses in Bulgaria are also quite affordable.

One of the advantages of Sofia Medical University in comparison to other medical universities in Bulgaria is that it is located in the capital city of Bulgaria. Here you will find the biggest international airport in Bulgaria – Sofia Airport. Many flights can take you directly to Sofia and travelling is usually very important to foreigners who choose Bulgaria as their study abroad destination. In addition, the capital city offers the highest number of sports facilities, international events as well as companies that may offer part-time jobs for students.

Sofia Medical University is located in the city centre near some of the main sightseeing places, including the National Palace of Culture and the main pedestrian street. Two of the most famous parks in Sofia – South park (“Yuzhen park” in Bulgarian) and Borisova garden, are also nearby. This allows students to explore the city after a busy day at the university. The location of the university is indeed excellent – there are two metro stations nearby (“Medical Academy” and “National Palace of Culture”) as well as many bus, tram, and trolley stations which connect the university to every neighbourhood in Sofia.

Study programs & Tuition fees

Sofia Medical University offers three study programs in English – Medicine, Dentistry, and Pharmacy. Students graduate with a Master’s degree. Lectures start in October and finish around June. There are two exam sessions – in January/February (the end of the winter semester) and in June/July (the end of the summer semester). To be considered for admission, applicants must pass an entrance test in Biology, Chemistry, and English.

  • Medicine in English at Sofia Medical University takes six years and the study program includes internships at hospitals in and around the university campus. The tuition fees are 8000 EUR per academic year and are paid in two instalments. Each year there are 300 places available for foreigners who wish to study Medicine in English.
  • Dentistry in English at Sofia Medical University takes five years and a half. The tuition fees are 8000 EUR per academic year. Students pay the first half of the tuition fees at the beginning of the winter semester and the second half – at the beginning of the summer semester. Each year there are 150 places available for international students in Dentistry.
  • Pharmacy in English at Sofia Medical University takes five years. As for tuition fees, students pay 3000 EUR per semester. There are 65 places available to people who wish to study Pharmacy in English. 

Many international students at Sofia Medical University apply for a student loan in their home country, e.g. Germany or Sweden. Working part-time is also possible in case you look for a way to finance your studies in Bulgaria. As for scholarships at Sofia Medical University, their availability and the eligibility requirements may be subject to change every year. Keep in mind that scholarships at Sofia Medical University do not cover tuition fees.

Application & Entry requirements

You may wonder how to apply for admission. Applicants who want to study Medicine, Dental Medicine, or Pharmacy in English at Sofia Medical University must submit a set of application documents to the university. It must include an application form, a copy of the diploma for secondary education, a copy of the Diploma’s marks, a certificate issued by the applicant’s high-school/competent institution, a medical certificate, a copy of passport/ ID, and passport photos. Depending on the applicant’s educational background and nationality, additional documents may be required. Furthermore, keep in mind that some of the documents must be translated and legalized.

It is important to point out that all applicants must sit an admission test in Chemistry, Biology, and English. In 2021, the entrance exam took place online for the first time. Students are not allowed to retake it and must pass all three subjects to be considered for admission. The exam results are announced online and follow the Bulgarian grading scale (2 – fail, 6 – excellent).

Indeed, the application is one of the most important steps for every international student. This is why we provide full application services – we assist students with collecting, preparing and submitting the application documents according to the university’s requirements and deadlines. Furthermore, we provide an excellent online platform to help you prepare for the entrance test – there you will find study materials, sample tests and mock exams. This way you can achieve high grades in the entrance exam – it plays an important role in the successful admission to Sofia Medical University.

Student life & Living costs

Sofia is one of the best places to live in if you choose to study abroad in Bulgaria. Being the capital city, it offers pretty much everything – modern shopping malls, plenty of international restaurants, cosy study cafés, various sports facilities, interesting museums and galleries. Here you will also find the biggest airport in Bulgaria!

Every year Sofia Medical University welcomes more than 500 international students – you can easily make friends with people from the United Kingdom, Germany, Italy, Sweden, Norway, Canada, Greece, Ireland, India, Pakistan, and other countries around the world. The great number of international companies that offer jobs to foreigners but also the tourists who come to explore the rich history of Bulgaria make Sofia the most international city in Bulgaria.

There are also many student societies at the university as well as international events in Sofia – you will never be bored!

Of course, being the capital city has one main disadvantage – the prices in Sofia are higher in comparison to other cities in Bulgaria. In any case, living costs in Bulgaria are still considered affordable if you compare them with expenses you would have in other European countries. To illustrate, you can have a nice meal in a restaurant for just 5 to 10 EUR. A monthly student travel card for (all lines) in Sofia is 11 EUR. You can rent a nice private apartment for 300 to 400 EUR per month.

Student accommodation

Student accommodation in Sofia is a topic that is very important to all applicants. Sofia Medical University has student dormitories. Usually, a room in a student dormitory costs about 50 EUR per month. It has two beds, two desks, and a bathroom. However, the student dormitories of Sofia Medical University are located rather far away from the city centre – in the “Studentski grad” neighbourhood. From there It takes around 40 minutes by bus to reach the university campus.

This is why most international students prefer to live in or close to the city centre where Sofia Medical University is. In this case, rent may vary between 300 and 400 EUR per month for a private apartment. Of course, the price depends on the furniture, location, size of the apartment, and so on. Bills are usually not included and rental agreements are for one year. Most international students prefer to share an apartment with another student. In this case, the apartment usually has two bedrooms and the kitchen and bathroom are shared between the tenants. The main two advantages of sharing an apartment are living with a friend while you study abroad and also sharing the living expenses in Sofia.

About the city

Sofia is the capital city of Bulgaria – nearly 2 million people live in it, making it the biggest city in Bulgaria. Sofia welcomes many locals and foreigners thanks to the great job opportunities, affordable living costs, and reputable higher education institutions. Some of the most famous universities in Sofia which offer study programs in English include Sofia University St. Kliment Ohridski, Sofia Medical University, the University of Forestry, the Technical University of Sofia, and the University of Architecture, Civil Engineering and Geodesy.

Sofia is a safe city. If you go out at night, you will see many people, especially at the park in front of the National Palace of Culture and along the main pedestrian street – Vitosha Street. Both places are located 10 minutes away from Sofia Medical University by foot!

Also, locals speak English, and menus in restaurants are usually available in English! There are many useful mobile applications for taxis and public transport in Sofia. Furthermore, the international brands and fast-food chains in shopping malls around Sofia will make you feel as if you have never left home.

People of all religions are also welcome – did you know that right in the heart of Sofia we have the so-called “Square of Tolerance”? There you will find a mosque, a catholic cathedral, an orthodox church, and a synagogue. Tsar Simeon Str. is located nearby – it is famous among locals and foreigners as “the Arab street” and has many restaurants that offer halal food as well as spices from countries around the world.

Sofia is also the best place to be if you like to go out you are active in your free time – there are many gyms around the city, bowling and go-karting places. Vitosha mountain is only 40 minutes away by car and public transport – there you can go for a hike throughout the whole year and even ski in winter!

Join our free monthly Online Open Days!

Video of the week